Pulling my Hair out....Treasure Map Help

So I'm trying to do a plain treasure map. I have 50 cartography an 50 lockpicking, I have a shovel, I have the map....but no matter what I do it says, "you dig and dig but fail to find the treasure"

What causes this? I'm pretty positive I'm in the right spot. I used a rune library( two different ones, both go to same spot)

I'm new to all of this, so maybe I'm missing something? I've read UOGuide, UO.com, and various other spots....still don't understand whats going on.

Easy_buddy

Journeyman
There's three messages you can get when you fail to dig up a chest: one that indicates you're nowhere near the chest, one that indicates you're very near the chest, and one that says you're on top of it. I think that's the one you get when you're right next to it. You probably just need to move over a few tiles.

• "You dig and dig but fail to find any treasure" means you are not digging in the right spot. Move off a couple of tiles in any direction and try again. (if you are using sextant locations, it shouldn't be more than one or two tiles away)
  • "You cannot seem to find a treasure chest" (or something similar) means you are very close. Try again just one tile away.
  • "You cannot dig here because you are standing on top of the chest!" Just like it sounds. You've found it; you just need to move off one spot and dig where you were just standing.

http://uo.stratics.com/thb/info/pureessay.shtml

Nanashi

Grandmaster